Copyright and Fair Use Guidelines

Copyright covers "original works of authorship" fixed in any tangible medium of expression. Student work, class notes, YouTube videos, music, images, websites, personal letters, and many other things are all covered by copyright.

Utilizing copyrighted materials can be done in a number of ways, such as purchasing an item, paying a license, or acquiring permissions (which may or may not require fees).

If you desire to access a specific resource requiring licensing or usage fees, reach out to the Library Director, who can determine if the library is positioned to handle the request.

Is the work licensed by the University? License agreements take precedence over copyright and may be more or less restrictive than copyright. Check the Greenlease Library Collections and Resources below:

A public domain work is a creative work not protected by copyright and which may be freely used by everyone. Works fall into the public domain for three main reasons:

1. the term of copyright for the work has expired;

2. the author failed to satisfy statutory formalities to perfect the copyright; or

3. the work is a work of the U.S. Government.

Most works enter the public domain because of old age, although a number of other variables can come into play. Use the excellent Public Domain Slider Tool (see below) to determine if a work is still protected by copyright.

The term of copyright for a particular work depends on several factors, including whether it has been published, and, if so, the date of first publication. As a general rule, for works created after January 1, 1978, copyright protection lasts for the life of the author plus an additional 70 years.

For an anonymous work, a pseudonymous work, or a work made for hire, the copyright endures for a term of 95 years from the year of its first publication or a term of 120 years from the year of its creation, whichever expires first. For works first published prior to 1978, the term will vary depending on several factors.

To determine the length of copyright protection for a particular work, consult chapter 3 of the Copyright Act (title 17 of the United States Code). More information on the term of copyright can be found in Circular 15a, Duration of Copyright, and Circular 1, Copyright Basics.

Materials in the public domain are not protected by copyright and may be freely used in their entirety.

Works created prior to 1923 are in the public domain. Works created between 1924 and 1989 may be in the public domain, but require more investigation.

Which government documents are in the public domain?

The majority of documents published by the federal government are in the public domain. There are some exceptions. The federal government outsources some of its research and publications to private publishers. Those works may be copyrighted. Check the specific document.

Also many state and county publications may be copyrighted; they are not necessarily in the public domain.

How do I know if a work after 1923 is in the public domain?

This depends on whether the work was published, was registered, and whether the original copyright was renewed. Use these resources to check the status of the work in questions:

• When U.S. Works Pass Into the Public Domain (Lolly Gasaway, University of North Carolina) 
• Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States (Cornell Copyright Information Center)
• Digital Copyright Slider (American Library Association)
• The Copyright Office database of copyright registrations back to 1978. 
  (For registrations prior to 1978, the Copyright Office can do a manual search for a fee.)

A work can also be an "orphan work" meaning that it may still be under copyright, yet no rights holder can be found.

For those who wish to explore further, see:

• Copyright Renewal Database (Stanford University) This database covers copyright "renewal records received by the US Copyright Office between 1950 and 1992 for books published in the US between 1923 and 1963. Note that the database includes ONLY US Class A (book) renewals."
• Information about the Catalog of Copyright Entries (University of Pennsylvania) A chronological list of links to online records of copyright registrations and renewals, 1906 to the present. 
• Selected Copyright Renewal Registrations, 1950-1977 (Project Gutenberg)
• Hathi Trust Digital Library Materials available in full view have been confirmed in the public domain through the University of Michigan Copyright Review Management System.
• Copyright Evidence Registry (OCLC)

This guide is not meant to offer of, or substitute for, legal advice.

Nothing on this guide may be construed as legal advice.This guide provides basic information and guidance to the Rockhurst community about copyright and fair use in an academic setting.

The Rockhurst University library complies with all applicable copyright laws and related guidelines. Library staff are not copyright authorities and may not give recommendations beyond those provided in this guide.

Rockhurst University counsel should be consulted for final authority on copyright compliance. Contact with legal counsel can be made through the Deans of the schools, the Vice President for Academic Affairs, or the Human Resources Department. 

It is the responsibility of faculty, staff, and students to use this guide to determine copyright compliance.

Use of the university's network and computers is the responsibility of the university Computer Services department. Information on computer use at Rockhurst can be found on the Computer Services Help Desk website. 

Thank you to Miller Nichols Library of UMKC for permission to reuse material from their Copyright guide.