Provides scholarly and business content covering advertising, communication studies, media studies, marketing, game studies, journalism, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
Full-text articles from over 12,000 local, regional, national, and international newspapers. Contains both current and archival news articles. Includes the Kansas City Star and St. Louis Post-Dispatch.
International, national, state, and regional news sources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, includes Le Monde, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and the Daily Record (Kansas City).
Digitized full-text collections of over 2,000 scholarly journals and ebooks from academic publishers covering a variety of disciplines, focusing on the humanities, history, literature and modern languages, religion and theology, the arts, art history, and social sciences. Note: journals are typically added to the database 3-5 years following publication.
Resources of reference and popular magazine content covering, biographies, business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues. Also includes Magill book reviews and an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps, and flags.
Provided through membership in the MOREnet library consortium.
In the library catalog you can search for books, ebooks, dvds, journal and newspaper titles, foreign language materials and more. You can also limit your search results to only materials owned by Rockhurst or search for materials from all the other libraries in the Kansas City Cluster
"The Federal Communications Commission regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite, and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. An independent U.S. government agency overseen by Congress, the Commission is the federal agency responsible for implementing and enforcing America's communications law and regulations." This FCC site explains its rulemaking process, current initiatives, and data, research, and reports.
The Pew Research Center, part of The Pew Charitable Trusts, "is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research." This site is useful for learning about the state of American media, and how consumers engage with the media.