LibGuides: NUA 5750 Advanced Pharmacology Course Guide: Recommended Resources

Resources for Clinical Decision Making

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
A clinical support tool for those in health and medical fields offering evidence-based, physician-authored recommendations based on the latest medical information. Content includes best practices, drug information, patient education, calculators, and more.

Please Note: UpToDate is always available through the library's website, but users wishing to use the mobile app will need to create an UpToDate user account. Login credentials for the mobile app expire every 90 days. To renew credentials for another 90 days, log in to UpToDate through the library's website, then log in to your user account from there.

American College of Physicians Clinical Guidelines
Provides current clinical guidelines as part of the American College of Physicians web site.
Clearinghouse of clinically relevant guidelines
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Use the search bar on the CDC home page to check for guidance on a specific health topic, or browse the the many departments/areas within the site.
U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
Provides information on food, drugs, medical devices, vaccines, blood and biologics, animal and veterinary products, cosmetics, radiation-emitting products and tobacco products; consumer and professional information; safety recalls
American Association of Poison Control Centers
The official site of America's Poison Centers, representing the nation’s 55 poison centers in partnership with the CDC, FDA, and HRSA

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information and the National Library of Medicine and conatins more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Its primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed is updated daily with citations for the latest published research.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane is best known for its database of high quality systematic reviews
CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text indexes over 5,000 journals in nursing and 17 other allied health fields will full-text access to hundreds of the the most-used journals in the health sciences. It also includes citations for healthcare-related books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more.

Provided through membership in the MOBIUS library consortium.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Drug information, one of many features on UptoDate, is integrated with the Lexicomp database. Find information about individual drugs or use the the drug interaction tool to see potential interactions between drugs.

DailyMed
Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, the DailyMed database contains manufacturers' labeling for prescription and non-prescription drugs submitted to the Federal Drug Administration (FDA).
LactMed
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced.
Merck Manual Professional Version
DRUGBANK Online
DrugBank Online is a comprehensive, free-to-access, online database containing information on drugs and drug targets. It is widely used by the drug industry, medicinal chemists, pharmacists, physicians, students and the general public. Please see the "About" tab within the resource for guidance on how to properly cite DRUGBANK Online.

MedlinePlus (Drugs, Herbs and Supplements)
MedlinePlus is a comprehensive consumer health information database maintained by the National LIbrary of Medicine. The Drugs, Herbs and Supplements lookup tool is one of many features available on the site.
Merck Manual Consumer Edition
The consumer-facing version of the online Merck Manual includes health topics, drug information, medical terminology/pronunciation, and more.
Mayo Clinic: Drugs and Supplements
Look up information on prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, supplements, and vitamins.
Pill Identifier from Drugs.Com
Use the pill finder to identify medications by visual appearance or medicine name.Tip: Search for the imprint first, then refine by color and/or shape if you have too many results. (Site Contains Advertisements)