NUA 5750 Advanced Pharmacology Course Guide

This research guide points Advanced Pharmacology students to reliable resources for drug information as well as educational content for the field of pharmacology.

The Basics of Citing and Referencing in APA 7th Edition.

Smart Student. (2022, September 3). The basics of citing and referencing in APA 7th edition. [video]. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKu2-tjNMok

Purdue OWL

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University is a widely-used and respected source for style formatting and writing guidance. This is a great place to find sample papers (to learn how to structure an APA paper) and instructions on citing various types of resources. Use the navigation on the left-side of the screen (instead of the tabs across the top) in the Purdue OWL APA Landing Page to remain within APA-related resources.

Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of 7th Edition APA Style
Free tutorial from APA covering all the basics of creating a student paper in APA format
APA 7th Edition Student Paper Checklist
Take your paper through the checklist before you turn it in to ensure all your bases are covered.

The Concise APA Handbook

The Concise APA Handbook by Paul Iida; Rachael Ruegg; Mark de Boer; Naoko Araki; Mary Frances Agnello
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
This is a summary of the Publication Manual of the American Psychologoical Association: The Official Guide to APA Style, not the APA Guide itself. It is available as an eBook and includes additional guidance on finding and evaluating information sources. Some students find it easier to follow than the official APA Guide.

HOW TO CITE THE UPTODATE DATABASE

This page contains a reference example for an article from the UpToDate database. Source: APA Style. Section 10.1 of the APA Publication Manual.

Bordeaux, B., & Lieberman, H. R. (2020). Benefits and risks of caffeine and caffeinated beverages. UpToDate. Retrieved February 26, 2020, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/benefits-and-risks-of-caffeine-and-caffeinated-beverages

Articles in the UpToDate database are available only in that database and have information that changes over time.
In the reference list, format UpToDate articles like periodical articles. Italicize the database name in the reference like a periodical title, but do not italicize the database name if it appears in the text.
Use the year of last update in the date element.
Include a retrieval date because the content is designed to change over time and versions of the page are not archived.