Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Managers: Zotero and Mendeley

Exporting References

How to create an simple bibliography using Zotero

  1. Open your Zotero Library in the Standalone tool or official website (zotero.org).
  2. Open a word processing application such as Microsoft Word, LibreOffice, or Google Docs and create a new, blank document.
  3. Highlight one or more references in your Library. When finished, drag-and-drop them into the blank document to create a quick bibliography.
  4. Recommended: review and edit the bibliography for spacing, readability, and small formatting issues.
  5. Optional : To select a default citation style for future drag-and-drop bibliographies, go back to the Zotero Library and click the Edit menu. Navigate to Preferences > Export to preconfigure preferences.

How to create a custom bibliography using Zotero

  1. Open your Zotero Library in the Standalone tool or official website (zotero.org).
  2. Highlight one or more references in the Library. When finished, right-click your selection to view possible actions.
  3. Select the option to "Create Bibliography from Items..." and wait for a new window to launch.
  4. In the window that appears, choose your desired citation style (e.g. APA, Chicago, MLA) as well as an output format before clicking 'OK.'
    1. If planning to input the bibliography into your paper, choose "Copy to Clipboard", open your word processor of choice, and paste.
    2. If you selected "Print" or one of the "Save as" options, a subsequent window may appear to help you prepare next steps.
  5. Recommended: review and edit the bibliography for spacing, readability, and small formatting issues.

 

How to insert Zotero citations into a research paper in Word

  1. If you have not already, download and install either the Zotero Standalone or the Zotero Word Processor Plug-In.
  2. Open a new or existing document in Microsoft Word, LibreOffice or Google Docs. If you have the appropriate plug-in installed, you should see a new menu option across the top of your screen for Zotero. In Word and LibreOffice, clicking on the Zotero menu pops open a ribbon of options. In Google Docs, a drop-down menu will appear.
  3. Place your cursor at the point in the document where you want to add an in-text citation from your Zotero Library.
  4. Select the icon or menu option to "Add/Edit Citation." This will launch a formatting box.
  5. Select a citation style from the formatting box and click OK to continue.
  6. A Zotero search box will appear that allows you search your Zotero Library by title, author or publication date. You can also click on the 'Z' to select the Classic View which allows you view your Zotero Library and select the item you wish to cite. 
  7. Once you have selected an item, you can edit it by clicking on the selection and manipulating the fields that appear (e.g. page number, option to suppress author name). You can also continue to add citations to the dialog box, if you are citing multiple items in the document at once.
  8. When finished, click the Word document (or if in classic mode, click OK). Your in-text citation will appear subsequently.

Recommended Reading

Zotero: Creating Bibliographies

Zotero: Word Processor Plug-In Usage

Visit us on Facebook

Visit us on Twitter

 Rockhurst University Library · 1100 Rockhurst Road · Kansas City, MO 64110 · 816-501-4116