Rockhurst Archives - Commencement B.0.1

Biographical / Historical
Rockhurst College began offereing classes in 1917 and produced its first graduating class in 1921, at
which time the practice of giving out honorary degrees was instituted. At the commencement of 1921,
Rockhurst College granted 3 degrees, 2 Bachelor of Arts, and 1 Master of Arts. Later in the fall semester of 1921, Rockhurst also gave its very first honorary degree (a Doctor of Laws) to Marshal Ferdinand Foch, the Supreme Commander of the Allied Armies. In 1999 Rockhurst College officially changed its name to Rockhurst University, and had a graduating class of 627.

Scope and Contents
Spanning 95 years, this legacy collection begins in 1921 and ends in 2016. Holding papers, photographs, slides, and video recordings, this collection provides a glimpse into the evolution of the Rockhurst commencement. It contains documentation of the perspectives of the student body,the faculty, and the administration concerning the issues of the day.The bulk of the commencement materials can be found in the years 1970-1990. The missing years in the commencement collection are 1922-1924, 1926-1932, and 2011. This collection also holds documents and photographs from the Rockhurst honorary degree program from the years 1921-1998, not inclusive.

Arrangement
This collection is arranged chronologically by year. Within the collection there are two series: honorary degrees and commencement photographs, also arranged chronologically by year.