Foreign Languages

Essential Japanese Phrase Book & Dictionary teaches you the practical phrases and expressions needed for common, everyday interactions in Japan in a clear, concise, accessible and enjoyable way.

Intended for use by tourists, students, and businesspeople traveling to Japan, Periplus Pocket Japanese Dictionary is an essential tool for communicating in Japanese and a great way to learn Japanese. It features all the essential Japanese vocabulary appropriate for beginning to intermediate students. I

This is a handy and comprehensive Japanese dictionary intended for use in a business setting. Newly revised, Tuttle Japanese Business Dictionary contains over 4,000 key terms that provide the essential vocabulary for clear and productive discussions between Japanese and English speaking businesspeople.

Now available for the first time in flexible covers, The Oxford-Duden Pictorial Japanese & English Dictionary provides parallel English and Japanese word-lists containing 28,000 items for each language. Based on the premise that pictures can more clearly convey certain kinds of information, the dictionary presents a list of vocabulary relating to a subject together with a picture illustrating that subject.

This reference source is designed for all levels of Japanese language study. It contains 119 Japanese particles presented in alphabetical order together with meanings illustrated through sample sentences in English, Japanese and roman orthography with furigana affixed to kangi characters. For English-speaking students of Japanese, particles are perhaps the most difficult aspect of the language to learn. It would be no exaggeration to say that, for most people, they can never be completely mastered. Thus, the study of particles is a lifetime undertaking, and