Greenlease Library Strategic Plan & Assessment

Vision Statement - Connecting Rockhurst companions and community to each other and the world to build engaged citizenry, leaders, scholars, and communities who create a more just and equitable world.  

Mission Statement - Greenlease Library is an essential and adaptable component of Rockhurst University, strengthening the University’s learning, teaching, research, and service goals by:

• providing welcoming and flexible spaces in support of study, collaboration, and community building,
• partnering with communities to enhance services and connections as a user-centered library,
• teaching information fluency, critical evaluation, and research skills,​
• creating and maintaining robust, diverse, accessible collections and services to support curricula and research,
• modeling principles of social justice quintessential to Rockhurst’s Jesuit, Catholic mission and core values within library philosophy and services.

Improve library spaces to better support student learning and library services:

• Photo diary of space usage. 
• Reading room for archival research. 
• Increase promotion of the library desk as a major service point, particularly for research support.
• Perform a building usage observation study that includes the length of time patrons use the building. 

Completed Space Goals

• Work with marketing on better color schemes and map to the building. 
• Survey of staff equipment needs to develop a replacement rotation. 
• Address 2nd floor ADA compliance issues. 
• Get fiber optics into the library to improve Internet quality. 
• Add color and new artwork to the building. 
• Create a new headcount system to measure library usage. 
• Move furniture into spaces vacated by shelves coming down. 
• Host at least two events at our library with two different groups on campus.
• Offer outdoor chalk art and other events.
• Study various feasibility options for food and beverages. 
• Install better staff desk that's inviting and friendly. 
• Update M1 Computer Lab Space. 
• Adjust headcount sheet accounting for new spaces and times. 
• Improve ground floor and stairwell flow. 
• Add fiber optics to the top floor of the library. 
• More comfortable, multifunctional furniture on main floor.

Enhance library collections to fully align with learning, teaching, and research needs of students, faculty/staff, and community:

• Identify top digitization opportunities within the Greenlease collections. 
• Identify digitization best practices, equipment, and formal needs. 
• Begin cataloging our archives (we have this functionality in Sierra). 

Completed Collection Goals

• Chart curriculum and changes for proactive collection development. Programmatic accreditation as well. Fuse curriculum knowledge with usage data to make informed decisions on resources. 
• Consult with faculty on topic specific collection items. 
• Find departmental style preferences - eBook/Print. 
• Sync annual renewals to begin at start of FY but after we've been given the budget. 
• Explore new resource models. 
• Prepare aspirational budget. 
• Regular review cycle for E.R.M., incorporating formats, CPUs, cost increases & purchase options, ILL costs. 
• Clean up catalog records to prepare for Integrated Library System (ILS) migration. 
• Annual review/deselection plan/process. 

Implement a user-centered philosophy within Greenlease to provide exemplary services that help companions achieve their academic and scholarly potential:

• Provide and promote marketing materials via the library desk, social media, and instructional sessions regarding the new ILS. 
• Get new laptops for students, perhaps a laptop lending machine. 
• Promote high-quality online services including research consultations and online instruction/tutorials.
• Analyze and compare fill rates of interlibrary loan borrowing and determine how automation is supporting patron needs.

Completed Service Goals

• Get training on the new Integrated Library System (ILS) to provide excellent service to the patrons of Greenlease Library.
• Student study of study room usage.
• Create assessment measures for TIPASA. 
• Get new desktop computers on the 1st floor to improve printing options. 
• Create an implementation schedule for the TIPASA interlibrary loan system. 
• Use savings from automation to purchase new Springshare products which aid library assessment and other services. 
• Compare the number of technology questions relating to printing services since the arrival of the new desktop computers. 

Increase student information fluency, critical evaluation, and research skills to be fully engaged students, professionals, and citizens:

• Build partnerships with E-Learning and Center for Teaching and Learning (CETL) regarding library Canvas support. 
• Prepare and present workshops to students and faculty regarding Zotero.
• Create and share Canvas tutorials with faculty to help promote library services. Analyze the usage of these resources.

• Promote faculty consultations. 

Completed Information Fluency Goals

• Share instructional design information for information literacy team (lesson plans, rubrics, worksheets, etc.) 
• Increase professional development on instructional design for librarians. 
• Interview faculty across academic programs on their instructional and research needs. 
• Market instruction and consultation sessions. 
• Continue developing course materials for Manresa initiative at RU. 
• Develop student assessment of information fluency. 

Create diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) initiatives integral to library philosophy, services, and spaces that support our diverse communities:

• Do a service point study that accounts for research on BIPOC student attitudes of library services. 
• Update Catalog Record Subject Headings to provide more inclusive search terms. 
• Propose the library become an ALA DEI fellowship and have a diversity fellowship position at Rockhurst University. 

Completed DEI Goals

• Update Rock Nook (leisure reading area for patrons) with social justice and DEI related materials. 
• Explore how the library could be involved with RU current DEI Efforts. 
• Plan special events with student organizations such as BSU and LSU.
• Highlight diversity in archival collections. 

Strengthen collaborative efforts to maximize resources and increase library commitment and accountability to the University:

• Work with IRB/other research interest groups partnering to help faculty understand trends - consuming research, creating research, and publishing research. 
• Establish faculty talks in the library.
• Join Amigos for professional development and discounts and consider Lyrisis for digitization. 
• Publish data analytics via email or teams to discuss ways to improve these services for our patrons. 
• Promote the library’s data driven decision making activities through social media that focuses on findings and plans to improve from those findings. 
• Promote liaison librarian model to faculty and campus administration. 
• Collaborate with Advancement and Community Outreach Services to develop a grant-funded consumer health information program. 

• Collaborate with Admissions to develop international student support services.

• Collaborate with Athletics to determine what library services would support student athletes. 

• Explore opportunities to support student organizations. 

• Provide library events to support a variety of needs: 

  • Offer de-stressing events throughout the year. 

  • Offer Finals late-night events to support students. 

  • Coordinate faculty lecture series. 

  • Collaborate to have EdD symposium and Research Day annual events occur in the library. 

  • Offer an event to celebrate faculty tenure and promotion. 

  • Continue Halloween Party event. 

​​​​​​​

Improve library best practices to provide optimal services supporting Rockhurst's commitment to excellence (Magis):

• Find top professional development services for libraries. 
• Create an archives policy & procedures for paging materials. 
• Conduct user experience testing on Locate and new EDS to see how patrons are using the product to improve user experience. 
• Create testimonials of faculty and students to promote stories of library impact. 

Completed Best Practice Goals

• Create uniform training materials for circulation & reference for the new ILS.
• Create an ideal/aspirational budget to grow, based on AJCU & CUPA peers. 
• Create a staff development plan including professional development & visits to other libraries for ideas on quality improvement. 
• Purchase, populate and use an Electronic Resource Management System (ERMS) to optimally track license agreements, contracts, permissions, and other data related to electronic resources. 
• Review library shared documents (J Drive). 
• Learn and develop understanding of workflow with the new ILS in the following areas: 
  • Ordering Materials
  • Activating Materials in EDS
  • Circulation
  • Metadata
  • Analytics
  • Automation of Patron Records