LibGuides: CD 6430 Concepts &amp; Practices of Research Course Guide: Recommended Resources

Recommended Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL with Full Text indexes over 5,000 journals in nursing and 17 other allied health fields will full-text access to hundreds of the the most-used journals in the health sciences. It also includes citations for healthcare-related books, book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more.

Provided through membership in the MOBIUS library consortium.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information and the National Library of Medicine and conatins more than 35 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Its primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed is updated daily with citations for the latest published research.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly and business content covering advertising, communication studies, media studies, marketing, game studies, journalism, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Largest resource for psychology abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral and social sciences and mental health.

Provided through membership in the MOBIUS library consortium.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature, including pedagogy, counseling and psychology.

Provided through membership in the MOREnet library consortium.

Websites & External Databases

These are great tools for locating citations. You may have to copy and paste citation information into the library's OneSearch box to either retrieve the full text of an article or request it through Interlibrary loan.

ASHA Evidence Maps
The American Speech-Language Hearing Association provides this searchable index of clinical guidelines and systematic reviews.
SpeechBITE
SpeechBITE is a database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice. It was developed by a team of speech pathologists at the University of Sydney (Australia) and is sustained by sponsorship by a number of professional organizations, including ASHA.
The Informed SLP
Some content is available for free and some accessible only to members. Free content is fully referenced and often linked.

CD 6430 Concepts & Practices of Research Course Guide

Liaison Librarian, Nursing & Health Sciences

Chat

Quick Links

Recommended Databases

Websites & External Databases