Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kansas City Community Resources

Introduction

The Prosperity Center for Financial Opportunities and the Kansas City Public Library H&R Block Business & Career Center both offer extensive services for community members interested in finding a job, starting a business, researching Kansas City businesses, getting out of debt, and much more. You can find information regarding the services provided by each of these places below.

H&R Block Business & Career Center

The H&R Block Business & Career Center is located on the 3rd floor of the Kansas City Public Library Central Branch (14 W. 10th St) and offers services for patrons interested in entrepreneurship, jobs and careers, personal finance, Kansas City area businesses, non-profit organizations and grant writing, and more. You can find examples of resources available for each topic from the Career Center website.

Call 816.701.3717 to set up an appointment for a personal consultation with a business librarian to discuss your business, career, or financial concerns. Computers are available for Center patrons, and the Library provides free high-speed wireless Internet access. In addition, the Library offers free classes, such as résumé creation, Internet and software basics, and job search strategies.

The Center is a local focal point for lifelong financial literacy and entrepreneurship, starting with future business leaders—children and teens. Ask a librarian for book recommendations to teach young adults to manage money, understand the stock market, or how to start a small business. The Center also assists youths with career development and entrepreneurship.

Entrepreneurship (H&R Block Business & Career Center)

Personal Finance (H&R Block Business & Career Center)

Whether it’s saving money for college or a home, investing your savings, or retirement, you can find help with doing the most you can with your money. Schedule one-on-one consultations to get help finding resources on financial planning. The Center also has a special collection of books on making your money work for you. 

KC Business (H&R Block Business & Career Center)

There are approximately 100,000 businesses in the Kansas City Metro area. These businesses employ more than 800,000 people and have total sales around $190 billion. These businesses range from one-person operations to local Fortune 500 companies.

Whether you are searching for local business and economic information on a prospective employer, or want to learn about the movers and shakers in a particular industry, you will find a number of Kansas City specific resources in the H&R Block Business and Career Center that will aid you in your research. 

  • Three monitors in the Center display current business news from Bloomberg, MSNBC, and the Fox Business Network.
  • Access online databases such as Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (Library card is required to access from outside the Library). Check S&P ratings on stocks, bonds, and mutual funds, read weekly stock “picks and pans,” access corporate annual reports and other company data, and use the Stock Screener to identify the right investments for your financial planning strategy.
  • Read print business newspapers and investor newsletters.
  • For additional independent analysis, the weekly print publication Value Line covers 3500 stocks and 1900 mutual funds on a quarterly basis.

Non-profits and Grant Writing (H&R Block Business & Career Center)

Find several databases and websites that can help you research existing non-profit organizations or find information on starting and managing your own. There is also information on writing grant proposals along with a number of resources to identify grant opportunities.

The Kansas City Public Library is designated a “Cooperating Collection” of the Foundation Center, a grants-research organization based in New York. It is one of 380 Cooperating Collections across the country, providing access to essential research databases.

Kansas City Public Library Card

Need a library card? Any resident of Kansas or Missouri can get one for free! There are two easy ways to apply:
 

Kansas City Public Library poster

 
Apply Online (see link below) - They'll mail the card to you, and you'll need to show some form of ID when you first use the card. Please allow 10-15 business days for the library card to arrive in the mail and the account to become active.

- OR -

Visit one of the Library locations and complete a library card application. Picture I.D. is required to apply for a library card. Proof of your current address is also required. Until your address is verified you will only be able to check out three items at a time. Address can be verified with a current ID, utility bill, property lease, or a postmarked letter addressed to you.

Visit us on Facebook

Visit us on Twitter

 Rockhurst University Library · 1100 Rockhurst Road · Kansas City, MO 64110 · 816-501-4116