Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACCP: Cristo Rey High School (English Literature)

Databases

The library has databases in most subject areas to help you find articles on a topic. You should be sure to use a database that is appropriate to the subject you are researching. You can start your research in a general topic database and then find more in-depth articles in subject-specific databases.

Access to Databases
On campus access to most of the library's subscription databases is available on the "Databases" page on the library's web site. Use either the alphabetical or subject lists of databases to find the one you need. All databases are accessible from the library and most are also accessible from offices and dorms. Instructions for off campus access can be found on the Off Campus Database Access page.

Library Databases

Search Tips

Use the Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT) to improve your search results:

  • use AND to combine search terms: elementary AND "special education" to get results on elementary special education.
  • use OR to combine search terms:  elementary OR "special education" to get results on either elementary or special education.
  • use NOT to combine search terms:  elementary NOT "special education" to get results about elementary that excludes special education

Use truncation to improve your search results:

  • use quotation marks (") to indicate a phrase:  results on "special education" rather than special and education
  • use an asterisk (*) as a wild card: education* will give wider results, education, educational, educations, etc
  • use a question mark (?) to replace a single character:  wom?n will give you both woman and women.

You can also limit your search results to only materials owned by Rockhurst or search for materials from all the other libraries in the Kansas City Cluster.


Use these worksheets to help develop your topic, create keywords and work through catalog or databases searches.

How do I search in a database?

Visit us on Facebook

Visit us on Twitter

 Rockhurst University Library · 1100 Rockhurst Road · Kansas City, MO 64110 · 816-501-4116