How do I find articles?
Rockhurst has a variety of databases available online. Go to the library’s website and click on the "Databases" tab on the Research Box. This will open the search box for databases. You can search by the database name or click the Search button to see all available databases. To search by subject, click the Search button and then the “All Subjects” tab. Find the general subject that you are researching and click the link. All of the databases shown will be relevant for finding articles, the first few will be your "Best Bets" for that subject.
How do I access articles from home?
Follow the instructions on the Off Campus Access to Databases . Questions or problems with signing into my.rockhurst.edu should be directed to the Computer Services Helpdesk at 816-501-4116.
How do I determine if Rockhurst has the full-text of an article I need?
If you have the article citation available, you can use “E-Journals” tab on the Research Box. Type in name of journal title in which the article was published. If we have full-text of the article, the journal title will come up with the database that has full-text access to the journal or to print holdings. Be sure to check the database coverage dates for the specific journal title.
How do I find books?
From the Library’s website, you can access the online catalog from the tab on the Search Box.
What if Rockhurst doesn’t have the book I am looking for?
You have another option by clicking on the MOBIUS link from the top left of the Online Catalog. This catalog will link you to most academic libraries in Missouri.
How do I request a MOBIUS book?
From the MOBIUS catalog, find the book you would like to reserve, click on the title and once the screen opens, click on the “Request this item” link. Choose KC-Towers as your cluster. Type in your full name (First Name Last Name), and your Unique ID number followed by the code “RG”- Example: 111111RG. Choose Rockhurst as your pick up location and click “submit.”
I can’t get a MOBIUS or KC-Towers request to work, am I doing something wrong?
You may need to update your library account. Library accounts deactivate at the end of each academic year. Click on reactivate to update your library account. Your request will be processed during regular business hours and a RU email verification will be sent to you once your account is reactivated.
If you owe overdue fines, or lost book replacement fees, you will be unable to check out a book through MOBIUS. Ask at the Reference Desk to determine if your account is blocked.
How long will it take for my MOBIUS or Kansas City books to arrive?
The average is 3-5 business days, though it may come faster or slower depending on the library sending out the book.
Can I renew books or see what I have checked out from home?
Absolutely! Go to the SERVICES tab on the left column on the Library Webpage and select VIEW LIBRARY ACCOUNT. Enter your full name and unique ID number + RG. Example: 123456rg.You will be able to view all of your currently checked out materials, see items on Hold that have been requested but not yet received, and renew books. You can renew books five days prior to due date and on the due date. Once a book is overdue you will need to bring the borrowed item into the library for check-in and payment of overdue fines.
When can I use the computer lab?
The computer lab is located on the south end of mezzanine level of the library. You are welcome to use the Computer Lab when it is not reserved for instruction classes given by library staff. Please see the policy concerning acceptable computer usage on campus.
How do I use a study room?
The study rooms are located on the Mezzanine Level of the Library. Study rooms are available on a first-come, first-served basis.
If Rockhurst doesn’t have the full-text of an article I need, how do I get it?
You can request any article that Rockhurst does not have full-text through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Visit the library’s ILL page for more information:
If Rockhurst or MOBIUS doesn’t have a book I need, how do I get it?
You can request any book that Rockhurst or MOBIUS doesn’t have through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Visit the library’s ILL page for more information:
How will I know if my ILL item has arrived?
You will receive an email in your Rockhurst email account.
|
Rockhurst University Library · 1100 Rockhurst Road · Kansas City, MO 64110 · 816-501-4116 |
