Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FR4940: French Senior Capstone (Madigan)

Books

Book: General AuthorLastname, AuthorFirstname. Title. Edition. Publisher, Year.  

Book:
Single Author

Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. Harcourt Brace, 1999. 

Book: Two or more works by Same Author

Gutman, Robert W. Mozart: A Cultural Biography. Harcourt Brace, 1999.  

---. Richard Wagner: The Man, His Mind, and His Music. U of Chicago P, 1968. 

Book:
Two or Three Authors

Hock, Randolph, and Gary Price. The Extreme Searcher’s Internet Handbook: A Guide for the Serious Searcher. CyberAge Books, 2004.  

Book:
Four or More Authors

Davidson, William, et al. Retailing Management. 6th ed., Wiley, 1988.  

Note: You may also include full names of all the authors in the order listed on the title page.

Book:
No Author

Begin citation with title. For example:

NAICS Desk Reference: The North American Industry Classification System Desk Reference. JIST Works, 2000.  

Book: Multivolume

If using two or more volumes of a multivolume work, cite the total number of volumes after the title (or editor). If published over several years, give the range of years.

Wright, Sewell. Evolution and the Genetics of Populations. 4 vols. U of Chicago P, 1968-78. 

When citing only one volume:

Wright, Sewell. Evolution and the Genetics of Populations. Vol. 2. U of Chicago P, 1969. 

If the one volume you are using has its own individual title, you may cite the book without reference to the other volumes.

Wright, Sewell. Theory of Gene Frequencies. U of Chicago P, 1969. 

Chapter in a Book

Willson, Jr., Robert F. "William Shakespeare's Theater." The Greenwood Companion to Shakespeare: A Comprehensive Guide for Students. Ed. Joseph Rosenblum. Greenwood Press, 2005, pp.47-64.  

For additional examples and explanations, see the MLA Handbook (2016).

Print Articles

Journal: General Author Lastname, Author Firstname. "Article Title." Journal Title, vol., no., date, pages. 

Journal with Volume Numbers

Graham, Sarah. “Impossible to Hold: Women and Culture in the 1960s.” Journal of American Studies, vol. 40, no. 2, 2006, pp. 418-19.

Journal with only Issue Numbers

Simmons, Carolyn, and Karen Becker-Olsen. “Achieving Marketing Objectives through Social Sponsorships.” Journal of Marketing, vol. 70, 2006, pp.154-69. 

Magazine (published weekly or every two weeks)

Reed, Stanley. “Seeing Past the War.” Business Week, vol. 21, Aug. 2006, pp. 35-36. 

Newspaper

Seward, Zachary. “Colleges Expand Early Admissions.” Wall Street Journal, 14 Dec. 2006, Eastern ed, pp. D1-D2. 

For additional examples and explanations, see the MLA Handbook (2016).

Online Articles

For scholarly journals that only exist in electronic form on the Web, cite the work like you would for a print article, only conclude the entry with the permalink to the article's URL. If the publication does not include page numbers, use "n. pag." in place of the page numbers.

Example:

Johnson, Eric J., and Elizabeth A. Brandt. “Targeting Diversity: A Critical Account of Language Policy and Public Education.” Harvard Journal of Hispanic Policy, vol. 21, June 2009, pp. 59–68. EBSCOhost, lib.rockhurst.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,url&db=a9h&AN=47507486&site=ehost-live.

For additional examples and explanations, see the MLA Handbook (2016).

Non-Periodical Works Cited Only Online

An entry for a nonperiodical publication on the Web usually contains most of the following components, in sequence:

  1. Name of the author, compiler, director, editor, narrator, performer, or translator of the work
  2. Title of the work (italicized if the work is independent; in roman type and quotation marks if the work is part of a larger work
  3. Title of the overall Web site (italicized), if distinct from item 2
  4. Version or edition used
  5. Publisher or sponsor of the site; if not available, use N.p.
  6. Date of publication (day, month, and year, as available); if nothing is available, use n.d.
  7. Website URL

Each item is followed by a period except the publisher or sponsor, which is followed by a comma. Untitled works may be identified by a genre label (e.g., Home page, Introduction, Online posting), neither italicized nor enclosed in quotation marks, in the place where the title goes.

Example:

Quade, Alex. "Elite Team Rescues Troops behind Enemy Lines." CNN.com. Cable News Network, 19 Mar. 2007, http://www.cnn.com/2007/WORLD/meast/03/15/search.rescue/index.html

Example with no author:

"Hourly News Summary." National Public Radio. Natl. Public Radio, 04 Jan. 2019, https://www.npr.org/sections/news/

Website Home Page:

Liu, Alan, ed. Home page. Voice of the Shuttle. Dept. of English, U of California, Santa Barbara, n.d. 04 Jan. 2019, http://vos.ucsb.edu/.

YouTube video:

Citing a YouTube Video in MLA. YouTube, uploaded by AnnieALaney, 05 April 2017, https://youtu.be/QjGyJ8HiOS4.

For additional examples and explanations, see the MLA Handbook (2016).

Online Works Cited with Print Publication Data

If the nonperiodical work you are citing also appeared in print, you may determine that it is important to include the bibliographic data for the print publication as part of your entry. A book that was scanned for access in a database, for example, is usually cited this way. Instead of concluding with Print as the medium of publication, record the following information in sequence:

  1. Title of the database or website 
  2. Website URL

Example:

Whittier, John G. "A Prayer." The Freedmen's Book. Ed. L. Maria Child. Boston, 1866. 178. The Project Gutenberg, https://www.gutenberg.org/files/38479/38479-h/38479-h.htm

Example:

Whitman, Walt. Preface. Leaves of Grass. By Whitman. Brooklyn, 1855. iii-xii. The Walt Whitman Archive, https://whitmanarchive.org/published/LG/1855/whole.html

For additional examples and explanations, see the MLA Handbook (2009).

Personal Interviews, Films, Television Programs

You may include other information (names of performers, directors, etc.) if they are pertinent. List the most important as the main entry.

Personal Interview

Bush, George W. Personal Interview. 10 Feb. 2007.

Film

E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial. Directed by Steven Spielberg, Universal Pictures, 1982.

Recorded Film

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. Directed by Chris Columbus. 2001. Warner Bros., 2002. 

Broadcast TV Program

“The Soup Nazi.” Seinfeld. NBC, KSHB-TV, Kansas City, 2 Nov. 1995. 

Recorded TV Program on Netflix  94 Meetings”, Parks and Recreation, season 2, episode 21, NBC, 29 Apr. 2010.  Netflixwww.netflix.com/watch/70152031.

For additional examples and explanations, see the MLA Handbook (2016).

Sound Recordings, Musical Compositions, Performances

You may include other information (names of performers, directors, etc.) if they are pertinent. List the most important as the main entry.

Entire Albums

The Beatles. Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Heart Club’s Band. Capitol Records, 1967. 

Individual Songs

Sinatra, Frank. “Strangers in the Night.” Rec. 1966. My Way: The Best of Frank Sinatra. Warner, 1996.

Audiobook

Atwood, Margaret. The Handmaid's Tale. Narrated by Claire Danes et al., Audible, 2017. Audiobook.

Musical Composition

Beethoven, Ludwig van. Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92., Oliver Ditson, 1932. CD.

Musical Score

If part of a series, include that information after the medium.

Beethoven, Ludwig van. Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92. 1811, Belwin, 1994. Kalmus ConcertMasters Series.

Live Performance

Ebb, Fred, lyricist. “Mein Herr.” Cabaret, music by John Kander, Roundabout Theatre Company, 24 Apr. 2014, Studio 54, New York.

For additional examples and explanations, see the MLA Handbook (2016).

Visit us on Facebook

Visit us on Twitter

 Rockhurst University Library · 1100 Rockhurst Road · Kansas City, MO 64110 · 816-501-4116