Chicago style has two methods of citation: a notes-bibliography (NB) system, and an author-date (AD) system.
Your instructor should be able to tell you which system they prefer. When in doubt, notes-bibliography is more often used in the humanities (especially history and the arts). Author-date tends to be used more by the social sciences and sciences.
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
by
Books in Chicago NB follow the format of
Note:
1. First name Last name, Book Title (Place: Publisher, Year), page number.
Bibliographical Entry:
Last name, First name. Book Title. Place: Publisher, Year.
Journal articles in Chicago NB follow the format of
Note:
1. First name Last name, "Article Title," Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page, DOI.
Bibliography:
Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume, no. Issue (Year): Page range, DOI.
Both print and electronic journals follow the same citation format.
Newspaper articles in Chicago NB follow the format
Note:
1. First name Last name, "Article Title," Newspaper Title, Date, Database or URL.
Bibliography:
Newspaper articles aren't always included in a Chicago bibliography. If your instructor requires you include them, use the format
Last name, First name. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, Date, Database or URL.
In-text citations in Chicago AD style require
These are combined in parentheses as (Lastname Year). So, page 8 of a book by John Smith would be cited as (Smith 8).
See above for the basics on how to format citations in your Chicago-style bibliography.
For complete information on Chicago formatting and citation, including a sample paper, visit the Purdue OWL's CMOS Formatting and Style Guide.
|
|
Rockhurst University Library · 1100 Rockhurst Road · Kansas City, MO 64110 · 816-501-4142 |
