TH4375: Christian Theologies of the Body

This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.

The New Catholic Encyclopedia Supplement 2012-13: Ethics And Philosophy expands upon and complements the scholarship in the 2003, 2nd edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia. It features approximately 740 (540 new and 200 updated/revised) signed, peer-reviewed articles dedicated to philosophical themes, with a focus on philosophy in the Western tradition. The 4-volume publication (also available online in GVRL) covers a wide range of topics including ethics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, aesthetics, philosophy of literature, art, and music, political philosophy, and philosophy of law. It contains numerous articles of special interest to Catholic thought and culture covering such areas as the philosophical aspects of love, hope, wisdom, marriage, friendship, death, pain and suffering, the human person and the human soul, and the philosophy of God and religion.

About the Product In partnership with the Catholic University of America, Gale presents New Catholic Encyclopedia -- a 15-volume set and its yearly supplements, which focuses on relevant, high-interest areas of Catholic life. The 2011 Supplement covers the areas of art, music and literature. It features over 340 signed, peer-reviewed articles written by specialists and scholars. In addition to the focus on the arts, it includes bios of those beatified and canonized since 2010, as well as entries on other relevant current Catholic issues, events and topics, such as: internet and the church, Pope Benedict XVI, popular culture, sex abuse crisis, television and Catholicism, women artists and Catholic art.

This 2009 Supplement to the award-winning New Catholic Encyclopedia is now available in eBook format through Gale Virtual Reference Library. Designed to complement previous releases, the 2009 supplement focuses on two themes: the Church and Science and the Church in the United States. Written by scholars in partnership with the Catholic University of America, the encyclopedias peer-reviewed articles are intended to share the Catholic perspective with a diverse audience. The eBook format provides users fast online access to a comprehensive resource covering all subjects related to Catholicism, easy retrieval of relevant articles across all editions, and cross-referencing within articles. Each edition addresses different key themes of interest to Catholics throughout the world: The New Catholic Encyclopedia -- The Church and Science The New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee -- Focuses on the pontificate of John Paul II The New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Edition -- Comprised of 15 volumes, it won the Library Journal Best Reference Sources and CHOICE Outstandi

A scholarly supplement to the New Catholic Encyclopedia that focuses on the pontificate of John Paul II and includes thematic essays presenting the man and his work. Headings include: The Papacy of John Paul II; Church Documents; People and Places; Institutions and Events, Saints and Blessed.

This 3-volume encyclopedia, produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries, covering 8 centuries of the Christian church and addressing such topics as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, culture, doctrine, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.

Over 3000 entries by an international team of scholars and contributors. Go to the Book Index and use the search feature to find instances of your topic throughout this multi-volume set.

Useful resource for women-related topics. This encyclopedia features more than 145 longer essays that enable major themes to be developed more fully. Of particular interest: Part 3: Catholicism, Part 4: Protestantism, and Part 5: Women in Orthodox and Oriental Orthodox Traditions. Jump to subsections of chapters or use 'Search within' feature to keyword search.

A solid resource for science-leaning topics. Go to the Book Index and use the search feature to find instances of your topic throughout this multi-volume set.