The Kansas City Research Center opened on the University of Missouri-Kansas City campus in 1980 with a mission to collect, preserve, and make available for research, documents relating to the history and culture of Kansas City, western Missouri, and the Midwest. Housed with the University of Missouri-Kansas City's University Archives, the Kansas City center has acquired more than 13,000 cubic feet of documents.
The Missouri Valley Special Collections (MVSC) consist of the non-circulating local history and genealogy resources of the Kansas City Public Library as well as the Library’s archives. Its mission is to preserve our area’s heritage and provide access in meaningful ways to the collections and materials.
The Missouri Valley Special Collections (MVSC), which came into existence in 1960, consist of the non-circulating local history and genealogy resources of the Kansas City Public Library as well as the Library’s archives. Over 11,000 images of archival material such as letters, photographs, postcards, and maps were migrated in 2006-2007 from a former SQL-designed online database to the new Missouri Valley Special Collections Digital Gallery.
The mission of the Black Archives of Mid-America in Kansas City, Inc. is to collect, preserve and make available to the public materials documenting the social, economic, political and cultural histories of persons of African American descent in the central United States, with particular emphasis in the Kansas City, Missouri region. Black Archives of Mid-America is an educational resource and provides access to its collections for research, exhibition and publication to honor our community heritage and to catalyze public awareness.
LaBudde Special Collections is made up of manuscript materials that focus on music, especially Kansas City Jazz, women’s and gender studies, and popular culture. LaBudde also includes rare books with a strong focus on Western Americana, especially Kansas and Missouri, music, and more. It is home to the Gay and Lesbian Archive of Mid-America (GLAMA).
Civil War on the Western BorderThis website engages Civil War buffs, scholars, students, and local residents in research and discussion on the Missouri-Kansas Border War that shook the region from 1854 to 1865. Through a collaborative effort among libraries, museums, and historical societies across the greater Kansas City region, the project provides free access to selected primary source materials and adds unique interactive features and a thematic layer of original scholarly essays and topical encyclopedia entries.
Nelson-Atkins Museum of ArtAfrican Art Collection: The African collection comprises approximately 300 objects that are diverse in form and in media.
American Jazz MuseumExhibits include the history of the African-American experience on 18th & Vine and its contributions to the cultural, social and economic development of Kansas City.
Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage CenterThis living museum stands in tribute to the legacy of Kansas City’s early African-American pioneers and embodies the artistic, cultural and social history of the African-American experience.