It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Cell: An Image Library™ is a freely accessible, easy-to-search, public repository of reviewed and annotated images, videos, and animations of cells from a variety of organisms, showcasing cell architecture, intracellular functionalities, and both normal and abnormal processes. The purpose of this database is to advance research, education, and training, with the ultimate goal of improving human health.
Developed and maintained by the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History, this website provides detailed descriptions, images and distribution ranges for more than 740 mammals native to North America.
Collection of databases from the University of Minnesota Libraries: Plant and Seed Sources provides sources for more than 90,000 plants from nursery firms; Book and Magazine Citations to Plant Info & Images provides citations to color images and information on plants in the scholarly and popular literature; Selected Links to Plant Info & Images provides links to reliable websites.
The Taxonomy Database from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
An interactive online resource for learning biology developed at The University of Arizona. The Biology Project is fun, richly illustrated, and tested on 1000s of students. It has been designed for biology students at the college and high school level, but is useful for medical students, physicians, science writers, and all types of interested people.
The Tree of Life Web Project (ToL) is a collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. On more than 10,000 World Wide Web pages, the project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history.